Jane Mansbridge is the 24th laureate of the Johan Skytte Prize in Political Science

Press release
6 April 2018

Jane Mansbridge, Charles F. Adams Professor in Political Leadership and Democratic Values at Harvard University, is awarded the 2018 Johan Skytte Prize in Political Science. Professor Mansbridge wins the prize for “with sharpness, deep involvement and feminist theory having shaped our understanding of democracy in its direct and representative forms.”

Mansbridge’s earlier distinction between conflict- and consensus-driven democracy laid the foundations for her own and others’ influential research into direct democracy and the importance of deliberation for democracy. Mansbridge is also widely known for her nuanced argument that, under certain circumstances, group membership can be a legitimate basis for political representation as a way to give voice to the previously politically marginalized groups.

Professor Mansbridge is the 24th recipient of the Johan Skytte Prize. The prize ceremony will take place in Uppsala on September 29, 2018.

About the Johan Skytte Prize:
In 1622, Johan Skytte, then Vice-Chancellor of the University, established the Johan Skytte chair in Eloquence and Government, which is probably the world’s oldest active professorship in political science. The lands included in the original donation continue to finance research and the Johan Skytte Prize. The prize sum of SEK 500,000 is awarded every year by the Skytte Foundation at Uppsala University to the person who has made the “most valuable contribution to political science”.

Read more about the prize and this year's laureate on the Skytte Foundation's website.

For more information, please contact: Michal Smrek, Information Officer and Master of Ceremonies at the Skytte Foundation, tel.: +46 70 0664926, e-mail: michal@skytteprize.com

Bilder för nedladdning: