The Martin H:son Holmdahl Prize

The Martin Henriksson Holmdahl Prize for the promotion of human rights and freedoms was instituted by the University in 2003 in celebration of the 80th birthday of its former Vice-Chancellor.

The prize is to be awarded to an employee of the University, a group of employees, a student, or a group of students who have worked to promote human rights and freedoms. The recipient of the prize should have studied and/or worked to further human rights and freedoms or have actively combated crimes against the UN Declaration of Human Rights, wherever in the world these crimes have been committed.

The nomination period for The Martin Henriksson Holmdahl Prize 2023 is closed.

The prize is awarded at the University’s anniversary celebration in October.

A prize committee has been appointed by the University’s Vice-Chancellor. During the period 2018­­­–23 it comprised Professors Peter Wallensteen (Chair), Olga Botner, Lars Burman (Library Director), Anna Jonsson Cornell, Mohammad Fazlhashemi, Gun Heimer and a student representative.

The latest meeting of this prize committee took place on 13 November 2023 in the Dag Hammarskjöld Room at the Department of Peace and Conflict Research, Gamla Torget 3 (see picture!). The University will decide how to address human rights issues in the future.

Priskommitten fotade framifrån med Holmdahls porträtt i bakgrunden. 

The latest meeting of this prize committee took place on 13 November 2023 in the Dag Hammarskjöld Room. Lars Burman, Mohammad Fazlhashemi, Peter Wallensteen, Gun Heimer, Olga Botner and Anna Jonsson Cornell. Photo: Mikael Wallerstedt

Anniversary ceremony, 10 June 2023

Some of the recipients of the 2023 Holmdahl Prize outside Engelska parken.

Peter Wallensteen, Brian Palmer, Elisabeth Rynning, Andreas Tolf and Anders Hagfeldt after the anniversary ceremony on 10 June 2023. Photo: Staffan Claesson

Recipients of the Martin Henriksson Holmdahl Prize

  • 2023: Ove Bring och Elisabeth Rynning (Hedersomnämnanden: Andreas Tolf och Brian Palmer)
  • 2022: Birgitta Essén
  • 2021: Peter Nobel
  • 2020: Stefan Swartling Peterson
  • 2019: Afaf Doleeb and Patricia Lorenzoni
  • 2018: Ola Larsmo
  • 2017: Jameson Garland and Elena Namli
  • 2016: Anna-Sara Lind and Lindsey Doyle
  • 2015: Heléne Lööw
  • 2014: Abdulbaghi Ahmad and Rebecca Thorburn Stern
  • 2013: Jill Trenholm
  • 2012: Gun Heimer and Gunilla Lindmark
  • 2011: Leena Huss
  • 2010: Hanin Shakrah
  • 2009: Paul Levine and Stéphane Bruchfeld
  • 2008: Edil Baisalov
  • 2007: Anna Jonsson Cornell
  • 2006: Aida Aragão-Lagergren
  • 2005: Hans Filipsson
  • 2004: Utrikespolitiska föreningen
  • 2003: Sofia and Martin Uggla