The Disa Prize

The Disa Prize was founded by Uppsala University and Studentbokhandeln in Uppsala to further popular science writing and was awarded for the first time in 2001. The prize sum is SEK 25,000.

The prize is named after the fictional woman Disa from Nordic mythology, whose wisdom made her queen.

According to the prize statutes, the Disa prize winner should primarily have a connection to Uppsala. The winner is selected by a jury of seven members, of which the previous year’s winner is one.

The prize is awarded annually on Uppsala Culture Night and the winner gives an open lecture at Museum Gusvativanum the same evening.