The Martin Henriksson Holmdahl Prize

Painted portrait of Martin Henriksson Holmdahl.
Martin Henriksson Holmdahl. Vice-chancellor′s
portrait by Bertram Schmiterlöv (1920–2002).

The Martin Henriksson Holmdahl Prize for the promotion of human rights and liberty was instituted by the University in 2003 in celebration of the 80th birthday of its former Vice-Chancellor.

The prize is to be awarded to an employee of the University, a group of such employees, a student, or a group of students who have worked to promote human rights and liberty. The recipient of the prize shall have studied and/or worked to further human rights and liberty or have actively combated crimes against the UN Declaration of Human Rights, wherever in the world these crimes have been committed. Last day to nominate is 14 September 2020. 

A board is appointed by the University’s Vice-Chancellor. For the period of 2018 to 2022 the members of the board constitutes of the professors Peter Wallensteen (chairperson), Olga Botner, Lars Burman (chief librarian), Anna Jonsson Cornell, Mohammad Fazlhashemi, and Gun Heimer. 

Nominations are currently closed. Please contact if you have any questions. The prize is awarded at the Winter Conferment Ceremony.

Recipients of the Martin Henriksson Holmdahl Prize

  • 2020: Stefan Swartling Petersons 
  • 2019: Afaf Doleeb and Patricia Lorenzoni
  • 2018: Ola Larsmo
  • 2017: Jameson Garland and Elena Namli
  • 2016: Anna-Sara Lind and Lindsey Doyle
  • 2015: Heléne Lööw
  • 2014: Abdulbaghi Ahmad and Rebecca Thorburn Stern
  • 2013: Jill Trenholm
  • 2012: Gun Heimer and Gunilla Lindmark
  • 2011: Leena Huss
  • 2010: Hanin Shakrah
  • 2009: Paul Levine and Stéphane Bruchfeld
  • 2008: Edil Baisalov
  • 2007: Anna Jonsson Cornell
  • 2006: Aida Aragão-Lagergren
  • 2005: Hans Filipsson
  • 2004: Utrikespolitiska föreningen
  • 2003: Sofia and Martin Uggla
Last modified: 2021-01-21