The Martin Henriksson Holmdahl Prize

Painted portrait of Martin Henriksson Holmdahl.
Martin Henriksson Holmdahl. Vice-chancellor′s
portrait by Bertram Schmiterlöv (1920–2002).

The Martin Henriksson Holmdahl Prize for the promotion of human rights and freedoms was instituted by the University in 2003 in celebration of the 80th birthday of its former Vice-Chancellor.

The prize is to be awarded to an employee of the University, a group of employees, a student, or a group of students who have worked to promote human rights and freedoms. The recipient of the prize should have studied and/or worked to further human rights and freedoms or have actively combated crimes against the UN Declaration of Human Rights, wherever in the world these crimes have been committed. The deadline for nominations is 10 May 2021. 

A committee appointed by the University’s Vice-Chancellor decides on the recipient of the prize. For the period 2018 to 2022, the members of the committee are Professor Peter Wallensteen (chair), Professor Olga Botner,  Professor Lars Burman (Library Director), Professor Anna Jonsson Cornell, Professor Mohammad Fazlhashemi, and Professor Gun Heimer.

Please contact if you have any questions. The prize is awarded in conjunction to the Universitys anniversary in October. 

Recipients of the Martin Henriksson Holmdahl Prize

  • 2021: Peter Nobel
  • 2020: Stefan Swartling Peterson
  • 2019: Afaf Doleeb and Patricia Lorenzoni
  • 2018: Ola Larsmo
  • 2017: Jameson Garland and Elena Namli
  • 2016: Anna-Sara Lind and Lindsey Doyle
  • 2015: Heléne Lööw
  • 2014: Abdulbaghi Ahmad and Rebecca Thorburn Stern
  • 2013: Jill Trenholm
  • 2012: Gun Heimer and Gunilla Lindmark
  • 2011: Leena Huss
  • 2010: Hanin Shakrah
  • 2009: Paul Levine and Stéphane Bruchfeld
  • 2008: Edil Baisalov
  • 2007: Anna Jonsson Cornell
  • 2006: Aida Aragão-Lagergren
  • 2005: Hans Filipsson
  • 2004: Utrikespolitiska föreningen
  • 2003: Sofia and Martin Uggla
Last modified: 2021-06-09