The Ulla and Stig Holmquist Science Prize in Organic Chemistry

The awardee Kenneth Wärnmark stands on the podium of the university hall in tail-coat and has received the award from Vice-Chancellor of Uppsala University, Anders Hagfeldt. Deputy Vice-Chancellor Cocco Norén can be seen in the background.
Award winner 2022, Kenneth Wärnmark receives the prize from Vice-Chancellor of Uppsala University, Anders Hagfeldt. Photo: Staffan Claesson

The prize is awarded annually ‘to a researcher in the field of organic chemistry whose main work has been done in Sweden and who has done pioneering work in that discipline.’

As stipulated in the donation, the prize was first awarded in 2005. It is conferred by the Vice-Chancellor of the University, selected from nominations submitted by the respective deans of the Section for Chemistry, the Faculty of Pharmacy, and the Faculty of Medicine.

The prize is awarded at the Uppsala University birthday celebrations in October.

Recipients of the Holmquist Prize

  • 2022: Kenneth Wärnmark
  • 2021: Fredrik Almqvist 
  • 2020: Jan Kihlberg
  • 2019: Per-Ola Norrby
  • 2018: Göran Widmalm
  • 2017: Kálmán J. Szabó
  • 2016: Kristina Luthman
  • 2015: Pher G. Andersson
  • 2014: Mats Larhed
  • 2013: Licheng Sun
  • 2012: Per Ahlberg
  • 2011: Peter Somfai
  • 2010: Olov Sterner
  • 2009: Björn Åkermark
  • 2008: Bengt Långström
  • 2007: Torbjörn Frejd
  • 2006: Christina Moberg
  • 2005: Jan-Erling Bäckvall
  • 2004: Anders Hallberg
Last modified: 2022-10-31