The University

The Torgny Segerstedt Medal

The medal was instituted in honor of Torgny Segerstedt for his work as Vice-Chancellor of Upppsala University for 23 years and was first awarded in 1988.

The medal is awarded every other year to ‘Swedish scholars for especially meritorious work in the arts and social sciences.’

The recipient of the medal is selected by a committee consisting of the Vice-Chancellor of the University, acting as chair, and the deans of the faculties of theology, law, social sciences, history-philosophy, and languages.

The medal is awarded at the Winter Conferment Ceremony.

Previous recipients of the Torgny Segerstedt Medal:

  • 2016: Inger Österdahl
  • 2014: Marie-Christine
  • 2012: Merja Kytö
  • 2010: Iain Cameron
  • 2008: Peter Juslin
  • 2006: Gun Widmark
  • 2004: Thorleif Petter
  • 2002: Torsten Persson
  • 2000: Eva Österberg
  • 1998: Björn Wittrock
  • 1996: Anders Agell
  • 1994: Lars Furuland
  • 1992: Olof Petersson
  • 1990: Gunnar Eriksson
  • 1988: Johan Asplund