Prestigious prize given to Uppsala physicist

24 September 2015

Claes-Göran Granqvist

Claes-Göran Granqvist, Senior Professor of Solid State Physics at the Department of Engineering Sciences, has been given the 2015 Jan Czochralski Award for lifetime achievements in materials research.

Granqvist received the award at one of Europe’s largest conferences on materials, European Materials Research Society, held in Warsaw this year.

Jan Czochralski (1885-1953) was a distinguished Polish chemist, and past winners of the award named after him include Shuji Nakamura, the inventor of the blue laser diode and one of three recipients of the 2014 Nobel Prize for Physics.