Uppsala researchers awarded by the Royal Academy of Sciences

16 February 2015

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award three researchers from Uppsala University for their contributions to mathematics, medicine and astronomy.

The Edlund prize 2015:
SEK 50,000 is awarded to Anders Karlsson at the Department of Mathematics, “for his important and pioneering work on ergodic theory and the theory of dynamic systems with geometric applications”.

The Hilda and Alfred Eriksson prize 2015:
SEK 150,000 is awarded to Per Westermark at the Department of Immunology, Genetics and Pathology, “for his important discoveries concerning amyloidosis, its structure and connection to disease”.

The Wallmark prize 2015:
SEK 50,000 is awarded to Paul Barklem at the Department of Physics and Astronomy, “for his pioneering quantum physical analysis of star spectra resulting in precision measurements of chemical elements’ abundance in stars, particularly the oldest stars of the Milky Way”.

The prizes will be awarded at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences’ festive meeting 31 March 2015.

Last modified: 2021-02-14