About the Department of Philosophy

The Department of Philosophy at Uppsala University has played a prominent role in the history of Swedish philosophy and in Swedish society generally since the 17th century. Many of Sweden's most influential philosophers worked here, such as Christopher Jacob Boström, Axel Hägerström, Ingemar Hedenius, and Adolf Phalén. In the early 20th century it was the center of the so-called Uppsala School, which became very influential in jurisprudence and other fields. In the second half of the 20th century the Department became very prominent in logic and related areas thanks to scholars such as Stig Kanger and Krister Segerberg. The Department has maintained its prominent position and features a large number of internationally renowned researchers in different areas of philosophy.

The Department is a very active international research environment. It frequently organizes conferences, workshops, and other events, such as the annual Hägerström Lectures. The Department regularly hosts Marie Curie Fellows and other international postdoctoral researchers.


Uppsala University has the national responsibility for scholarship and teaching in Aesthetics, a duty ordained by the Swedish government. There are only a few other comparable research environments for Aesthetics in the world.