Celsius-Linnaeus Lectures

Each year the Faculty of Science and Technology arranges the Celsius-Linnaeus honorary lectures in memory of Anders Celsius and Carl von Linné. The selected Celsius- and Linnaeus-lecturers are at today's forefront within their field.

The Celsius-Linnaeus lecturers are selected by the Celsius-Linnaeus Committee. The committee also selects four symposie-lecturers, two national and two from Uppsala University.

Lecturers of 2024

The 2024 Celsius Lecturer were Professor Chris Polly, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory, Chicago, IL.

The 2024 Linnaeus Lecturer were Professor Jürgen Janek, Institute of Physical Chemistry, Justus Liebig University Giessen.

Here you can see the 2024 Celsius-Linnaeus program that took place at Ångström Laboratory on February 15.

Read more about the lecturers in this article "Solid-state batteries and muons at this year's Celsius-Linnaeus Lectures"

Tavlor placerade på bord i sal

Nobel prize

Since 1991, eleven of the Celsius-Linnaeus lecturers have been awarded a Nobel Prize.

Svante Pääbo, who was Linnaeus-lecturer in 2022, has received the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine the same year.

The Celsius-Linnaeus Committee

The Celsius-Linnaeus committee has the task of inviting top-class lecturers in the world each year in the subject areas of Anders Celsius and Carl von Linné respectively.

Members of the Celsius-Linnaeus committee 2022-2025

  • Professor Máté Erdélyi, Department of Chemistry-BMC (chairman)
  • Professor Klas Hjort, Department of Materials Science and Engineering
  • Professor Giuliano Di Baldassarre, Department of Earth Science
  • Professor Karin Schönning, Department of Physics and Astronomy
  • Professor Per Ahlberg, Department of Organismal Biology
  • Professor Silvelyn Zwanzig, Department of Mathematics

For more information, contact committee secretary Karin Thellenberg