The Award Committee

The award committee consists of:

Prorektor Coco Norén

Coco Norén has been Professor of French since 2011 and Deputy Vice-Chancellor of Uppsala University since January 2021. At the University, she has been director of studies at undergraduate, Master’s and PhD level and senior faculty administrator. Her teaching has involved language proficiency courses in French pronunciation and grammar, as well as courses in French linguistics and general linguistics. Her research concerns semantics, reformulation, argumentation and polyphonics in various verbal interactions and text types such as everyday speech and EU parliamentarian debates. Between 2008 and 2014, she was head of the Academic Senate and between 2014 and 2020 Dean of the Faculty of Languages.

Professor Christel Bergström

Porträtt Coco Norén

Christel Bergström is Professor of Molecular Galenic Pharmacy at the Department of Pharmacy. Her research concerns drug formulation, with a focus on new computer-based and experimental methods for optimising drug absorption. She has won grants from the ERC, the Swedish Research Council, Vinnova and the Swedish Foundation for Strategic Research and has extensive experience of various aspects of innovation, including patenting, start-ups and business development. As Deputy Dean for Collaboration she interacts closely with the wider society and in her role as Director of the Swedish Drug Delivery Center she leads international cooperation with numerous biotech and pharmaceutical companies.

Tomas Nygren

Porträtt Christel Bergström

Tomas Nygren has a degree in business administration from Uppsala University and has worked in financing and business development for 40 years. In the course of his long career, he has been engaged both in the private business sector and in the university-linked innovation support system, most recently as CFO at Industrifonden (the Swedish Industrial Development Fund) and previously as Group CFO at Almi and Executive Vice President at Innovationsbron. Tomas became a member of the board of UU Invest in 2023.

Docent Lars Jonsson

Porträtt Tomas

Lars Jonsson is an MD and docent in anaesthesiology and intensive care at the Department of Surgical Sciences, Uppsala University. He was CEO of Uppsala University Holding Company from 1998 until 2018, and head of business relations and head of UU Innovation between 2007 and 2013 in parallel with his work at the holding company. In his role, he has contributed to the start-up and development of around 60 companies based on research at Uppsala University. Thirteen of them are now listed. After his retirement in 2018, he has remained associated with the University as visiting researcher at the Department of Civil and Industrial Engineering, and board member of Friends of Uppsala University. He is a member of the Royal Society of Sciences and of the investment committee for the newly started equivalent to a holding company at the University of Tartu in Estonia.

Christina Frimodig, fil.kand MBA

Porträtt Lars Jonsson

Christina Frimodig holds a Bachelor of Science in chemistry, biochemistry and microbiology, and an MBA in international business, both from Uppsala University. She has pursued a career for over 30 years in the Life Science industry: diagnostics and medical technology in smaller and larger companies. Her focus has been in marketing and sales as well as holding various management and CEO positions in these companies. In the final years before retiring in 2018, she was CEO of STUNS, the foundation for collaboration between the universities, business and the public sector in Uppsala. In this role, she also chaired the business incubator Uppsala Innovation Centre (UIC), as well as repeatedly serving as a mentor in Mentor4Research

Porträtt Christina Frimodig