Turkic Languages

Turkic languages form a comprehensive language family with about 200 million speakers. They are spoken across a wide geographical area stretching from the Balkans through Central Asia to northeast Siberia. As the official language of Turkey, Turkish is the largest modern Turkic language; it is also one of the most important immigrant languages in north-western Europe today, with about three million speakers in Germany alone. There are around twenty standard Turkic languages with a considerable literary tradition, including Azeri, Turkmen, Tatar, Kazakh, Kyrgyz, Uzbek, Uighur and Yakut. The languages are documented from the 8th century on. The earliest sources were written with a runiform alphabet similar to Scandinavian runes. Later literary languages, such as Chagatai and Ottoman were written in the Arabic script. Since 1928, Turkish uses a Latin alphabet. Several other Turkic languages which were previously written with a Cyrillic-based alphabet now use different Latin-based ones.

At Bachelor's level, the studies aim to provide a solid knowledge of Turkish by studying grammar as well as modern and classical texts. The courses also include spoken and written exercises. Advanced seminars deal with Turkic language history, the history of the Turkic peoples, Turkic literature, and Turkic linguistics. It is also possible to attend introductory courses in other Turkic languages (Uighur, Uzbek, Kazakh, Azeri).


Bachelor's level, basic courses

Bachelor's level, continuing courses

Master's level courses