The Linnaeus Medal

The Linnaeus Medal was instituted in May 2006 in connection with the Tercentenary of the birth of Carl Linnaeus on May 23, 1707.

The gold medal is conferred ‘for truly outstanding scientific achievement, especially in the Linnaean subject areas but also for meritorious furtherance of the legacy of Linnaeus or Uppsala University.’ The silver medal is conferred ‘for estimable administrative service in connection with the Linnaeus Tercentenary.’

The medals were awarded for the first time at the University’s Linnaeus celebrations on May 23, 2007.

Recipients are selected by the Vice-Chancellor, regarding the gold medal in consultation with the leadership of the disciplinary domains and after conferring with the Trustee Council of the University Board.

Recipients of the Linnaeus Medal


  • 2022: Lars Lind
  • 2021: Lars Tranvik
  • 2020: Kerstin Lindblad Toh och Dai-Won Yoon
  • 2019: Gunnar Broberg
  • 2018: Leif Andersson
  • 2017: Siv Andersson
  • 2016: Hans Ellegren
  • 2015: Göran Arnqvist
  • 2014: Birgitta Bremer
  • 2013: Björn Olsen
  • 2012: Per Ahlberg
  • 2010: Sigurd Fries
  • 2009: Staffan Ulfstrand
  • 2007: Allan Ellenius
  • 2007 2007 (during the Linnaeus jubilee): H.M. King Carl XVI Gustaf, Kofi Annan, David Attenborough, Christian von Bar, Noam Chomsky, Gaalen Erickson, Jane Goodall, Walter Kasper, Michel Mayor, Elinor Ostrom, Lisbet Rausing, Douglas Roberts, Bengt Samuelsson, James Watson, Robert A. Weinberg; Anders Björck, Tore Frängsmyr, Carl-Olof Jacobson; Linnean Society of London.


  • 2007 (during the Linnaeus jubilee): Mats Block, Karin Martinsson, Roland Moberg, Annika Windahl Pontén, Per Ström.