Fees for studies at Uppsala University

Studies in Sweden are free of charge for Swedish citizens and those with a permanent Swedish residence permit. If you are a citizen of a country within the European Union (EU), European Economic Area (EEA) or Switzerland, you are not required to pay application or tuition fees to study in Sweden.

With some exceptions, individuals who are citizens of countries that are not part of the EU, EEA or Switzerland are required to pay application and tuition fees.

More information about fee exemption can be found on universityadmissions.se.

If a fee-paying student’s residency status changes during their studies (e.g. they are granted European citizenship), they must submit documentation to Uppsala University to certify the change. Contact feemaster@uu.se for more information.

Reimbursement of the tuition fee is only possible in cases where the student is prevented from participating in the programme or courses due to extraordinary circumstances.

More about the refund regulations

According to the Regulation on application and tuition fees at universities and colleges (SFS 2010:543 and 2011:303), citizens from outside the EU/EEA or Switzerland, also referred to as third-country students, shall in certain cases pay a fee for their higher education.

University-level decisions regarding tuition fees (In Swedish only)